David M. Brown MD, FACS is a world-renowned retina surgeon and clinical trial specialist. He is in private practice at Retina Consultants of Texas where he is the Director of Clinical Research.  

Dr. Brown leads the Greater Houston Retina Research Center which is the United States largest clinical trial site for macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy research.  Brown serves as the consultant retina specialist for NASA for all ongoing and long-term space flight astronauts.  Additionally, he is Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Cullen Eye Institute, Baylor College of Medicine and vice-chair for research at the Blanton Eye Institute, Houston Methodist Hospital. Dr. Brown graduated from Baylor College of Medicine with highest honors and completed ophthalmology and retina training at the University of Iowa where he was a Thomas Heed Fellow, a Hermann Knapp Fellow, and was awarded the Ron Michels Fellowship award presented to the top retinal surgery fellow in the US in 1994.

Dr Brown’s  research and clinical interests are focused on macular surgery, age-related macular degeneration, gene therapy, retinal vascular disease, and diabetic retinopathy.  He has published and written over 400 national meeting presentations, abstracts, and scientific papers including many of the primary papers establishing the use of anti-VEGF agents for AMD, retinal vein occlusions, and diabetic retinopathy.

2019 Expertscape.com (based on published research in the preceding ten years) lists Dr. Brown as the # 13 expert world-wide in age related macular degeneration (#5 in the US, #1 in Texas), #3 expert world-wide in retinal vein occlusion research (#1 in Texas) and in the top 30 experts worldwide in diabetic retinopathy (#1 in Texas).  

Dr. Brown is an elected member of all three world-wide retina honor societies:  the Macula Society, the Retina Society, and the Club Jules Gonin and his honors include the American Academy of Ophthalmology Honor Award in 2000, the AAO Senior Honor Award in 2014,  Retina Hall of Fame inaugural inductee 2017, and continuous election as one of the “Best Doctors in America” 2007 -2019 and "Texas Super Docs" from 2009 – 2018.